National blood transfusion council

In accordance with the directive of the Supreme Court, National Blood Transfusion Council was constituted in 1996 as a Registered Society with its office at New Delhi with the objectives to

   1. Promote voluntary blood donation
   2. Ensure safe blood transfusion
   3. Provide infrastructure to blood centres
   4. Develop human resource.


The Council has its elaborate Memorandum of Association and Rules and Regulation.

Additional Secretary and Project Director, National AIDS Control Organisation, Ministry of Health and Family Welfare. Govt, of India, is the President of the Council and the Director National Council who shall be appointed by the Governing Body with the prior approval of the Union Government shall be the Member Secretary. The Governing Body can have not more than fourteen members at present but the first Governing Body however was constituted with seven members.

The management of the affairs of the Council shall be entrusted to the Governing Body. The Governing Body shall have the power to constitute the Executive Committee as here under:

1President of the Council
2Representatives from the Directorate General of Health Services. Govt, of IndiaMember
3Representatives of the Ministry of Finance, Govt of India
4Drugs Controller of IndiaMember
5One expert in Blood Transfusion MedicineMember
6Representative from Indian Red Cross Society
7Director, National CouncilMember, Secretary